Municipal corporation of Vadodara: the head of the civic body proposes to increase the administrative districts

Vadodara municipal commissioner Shalini Agarwal on Tuesday proposed increasing the number of administrative quarters from 12 to 19 to provide “friendly civic administration”.

In a proposal presented to the Standing Committee of the Vadodara Municipal Corporation (VMC), Agarwal said that the city of Vadodara has grown from 158.60 square kilometers (km²) to 219.07 km², with an additional area of ​​57.48 km². added to the CMV. has been limiting state government notifications since 2006.

The proposed number of wards at 19 also corresponds to the number of electoral wards of the MVC, making it a “single wards” for administrative and electoral purposes.

According to the VMC’s proposal, the new arrangement would provide “transparent and efficient civic administration” to a population of 17.41 lakh residents of Vadodara.

The proposal read: “In 2006, the area of ​​the then city, 158.60 square kilometers, was divided into four areas, namely east, west, north and south and 12 administrative districts… In repeatedly, the state government, after discussing with the corporations, declares notifications to include more areas within the city limits under the municipal corporation… ”

The proposal further stated: “A total of 57.48 square kilometers of the area has been added to the boundaries of the VMC since 2006, bringing the total area from 158.60 square kilometers to 219.08 square kilometers. “
The proposal also enlisted the 19 wards to be distributed among the four zones to correspond to the 19 electoral wards of the same number.

Thus, the North zone will include wards 1, 2, 3, 7 and 13 as well as electoral wards of the same number; the South zone will include districts 16, 17, 18 and 19 while districts 4, 5, 6, 14 and 15 have been classified in the East zone and districts 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 in the West zone, declared proposal.

Each administrative district was divided on the basis of an average population of 82,000 to 1 lakh. While Ward 13 has the lowest population at 82,845, Ward 8 – which houses the office of the current Administrative Ward 10 – has the highest population of 1 lakh.

The MVC standing committee will meet later this week to discuss the proposal. The company also proposed to have the 19 administrative offices in each jurisdiction.

While the office space of the 12 existing quarters was used, it was proposed that the additional seven offices be set up in the Chhani Gram Panchayat office (new ward 1), Sardar Market Kevadabaug (new ward 13), a community hall in Warasiya (new district 6), two store locations in affordable housing complexes (new districts 9 and 10), and Tarsali Atithigruh (new district 19).

Comments are closed.